The Australian Building Codes Board is made up of eighteen members including a Chair, the head of each state and territory building administration, a Commonwealth building policy representative, up to seven industry representatives, and a representative of the Australian Local Government Association.

The role of the Board

The diversity of membership on the Board ensures a broad range of perspectives are brought to the table. State and territory members are well placed to understand the nuances particular to their jurisdiction, be it specific regulatory system characteristics or broader policy considerations. Industry members are vitally important in understanding the diverse interests of Australia’s building and plumbing industries, particularly in relation to regulatory impacts and cost of construction issues.

Industry Board members

Over the coming editions of Connect, we will be having more in-depth conversations with industry Board members, noting that they as members of the Board they do not represent that organisations they are employed by, but industry as a whole. Before we do that, please enjoy our brief introduction to your industry members. 

Stephen Kip: Stephen is a leading fire safety engineer who has held senior engineering positions with private and public organisations. He has   a depth of experience in reviewing, researching and drafting building regulations, including in the development of the performance-based Building Code of Australia (BCA) in 1996. He is also a qualified builder & building surveyor, and has lectured in building regulations and   engineering at several universities since 1997.  Stephen joined the Board in 2015. 

Richard Choy: Richard Choy is the CEO of NATSPEC. He has extensive design and on-site experience and has worked within both engineering and architecture.  He has written and presented on numerous design and documentation subjects. He is able to bring multiple perspectives to any Board discussion. Richard joined the Board in 2016.

Kristin Brookfield: Kristin has over 25 years’ experience in planning, building and environmental regulation. A background in NSW local and state government, specialising in development control and planning & building systems, supports an extensive knowledge of government relations and engagement on all housing and building issues. She is the Chief Executive Industry Policy at the Housing Industry Association. Kristin has been a Board member since 2017. 

Wayne Smith: Wayne has an extensive background in National and State-based Fire Protection Industry leadership over a long period, while also playing a significant leadership role in the wider Building and Construction Industry. Wayne has been on the Board since 2018.

Penny Cornah: Penny Cornah is the plumbing industry representative on the Board, and brings a wealth of experience from her many years with the Master Plumbers’ Association (Qld), where she is currently Executive Director. Penny joined the Board in 2020.

Dan Perkins: Dan is the Managing Director of the Perkins Group of Companies which includes Perkins Builders, a long-standing commercial construction company in WA known for quality and diversity of projects, Commercial Aquatics Australia, who deliver a range of aquatic construction and service solutions nationwide, and Aquatic One, a design and engineering consultancy for aquatic projects. Dan has been a board member of Master Builders Association (WA) since 1996 and President 2002-2005; a member of the Master Builders Association (Ltd) Board from 2005-2018 and National President in 2015-2017. He is a life member of both organisations. Dan is a registered builder in WA, SA, Vic and Qld. He joined ABCB in 2020.

Melissa Chandler: Melissa has worked in BCA compliance for many years and has been a long-term contributor to the ABCB’s Building Codes Committee before she commenced on the Board. She is currently Technical Manager, Building Compliance at Lendlease.  Melissa joined the Board in 2020. the coming editions of Connect, we will be providing you with some in-depth discussions with these industry Board members so that you can better know your representatives. We will also take the opportunity to profile the new Chair of the Board, Glenys Beauchamp, who was appointed to the role at the end of 2020. 


Contact us